A 25-member Board of Commissioners appointed by the Governor supports California Volunteers. Its role is to carry out the mission and objectives of California Volunteers and fulfill the statutory responsibilities for State Commissions under the National and Community Service Trust Act of 1993.

Commission members, who serve no more than two three-year terms and do not receive a salary, function as “Ambassadors of Service” in their local communities to promote service opportunities, and to encourage service by all Californians. Commissioners also participate in the following activities on behalf of California Volunteers:

  • Approve grant making policies, procedures, and funding proposals submitted to the Corporation for National and Community Service;
  • Advise and participate in the work of California Volunteers including policy, communication and program decision making, and special initiatives, by attending meetings and participating on committees, working groups, and task forces;
  • Reach out to specific constituencies such as government, nonprofits, business, labor , and communities of faith to seek their participation in and support of California Volunteers activities and programs;
  • Coordinate with other state agencies and volunteer service programs to ensure a comprehensive and integrated service system within the state;
  • Promote community service throughout the state by representing California Volunteers at service related events and venues;
  • Support California Volunteers funded programs by participating in site visits and speaking at launch or graduation activities; and,
  • Participate in the development of the annual state service plan often called the Unified State Plan


The following people are California Volunteers Commissioners:

  • Kathy McKim – Chair – Senior Vice President, Hawksbill Group
  • Wendy Garen – Vice Chair – President and CEO, The Ralph M. Parsons Foundation
  • Nicole Bejar – Watershed Stewards Program, Bureau of Land Management
  • Ted Benito – Executive Director, Foundation International
  • Donna Bojarsky – Consultant
  • Jill Bolton – Director of Corporate Citizenship, Disneyland Resort
  • Laurie Cannady – State Director of the California State Office, Corporation for National and Community Service
  • Clara Chiu – Development Officer, AARP Foundation
  • Karla Crawford – RSVP Volunteer and President, PART Foundation
  • Kimberly Freeman – Assistant Dean of Diversity Initiatives and Community Relations, UCLA Anderson School of Management
  • Jeffrey Hoffman – Jeff Hoffman and Associates
  • Rita Holiday – Community Relations Program Manager, Intel Corporation
  • Lisa Spinali – Lisa Spinali Consulting
  • Kenneth Martinet – President and CEO, Catholic Big Brothers Big Sisters
  • Amanda Plasencia – Analyst, Third Plateau Social Impact Strategies
  • David Porges – National Director of Community Engagement, Grant Thornton LLP
  • Yvette Radford – Kaiser Permanente
  • Tim Strauch – Vice President and COO, OneOC
  • Robert Weist – Fire Captain, City of Davis Fire Department

Commissioner Meeting Agendas


Commissioner meeting agendas can be found on our Public Notices page.