2015 Governor’s Volunteering and Service Awards Winners


Hoffman Prize Winner

Susan Portugal

This prize was created in Jeff Hoffman’s honor in order to recognize an exceptional business executive who is fostering volunteerism at the local and state level throughout the nation and the globe.

See Video


Volunteer of the Year Award Winner

Donna Johnson

Honoring an outstanding Californian aged 18 or older, whose volunteer service is exemplary and inspirational.


California’s AmeriCorps Member of the Year

Sara Kokkeleberg

Honoring a California AmeriCorps member who has made a substantial impact to their community.


California’s Governmental Agency of the Year

LEAP (Lake Evacuation and Animal Protection)

Honoring an outstanding California state, county, or city agency or department that has demonstrated a remarkable dedication to engaging volunteers.


California’s Disaster Volunteer Program of the Year

San Bernardino County CERT

Honoring an outstanding California disaster volunteer program that has demonstrated an unwavering service commitment to the local community.


California’s Nonprofit of the Year

ElderHelp of San Diego

Honoring a California nonprofit who has shown an extraordinary ability to leverage volunteers in service to their organization.


California’s Foundation of the Year

Syar Industries Foundation

Honoring a California-based foundation that has made a successful investment in service and volunteering models in addressing community needs.


California’s Business Volunteer Program of the Year


Honoring an outstanding California business with an innovative, high-impact employee volunteer program.